Animation Film

Anime monogatari series: Recommended order to watch the series

Monogatari is the name given to a series of Japanese light novels written by the novelist Nisio Isin. Vofan, a Taiwanese illustrator, illustrated the books. There are 24 novels published since 2006, and 5 more stories are planned to be released soon.

The novels have been adapted into anime by SHAFT, and the adaptations have been an enormous success. The Monogatari anime comprises the main story and an anime Monogatari series of smaller short stories that feature different characters within the same universe.

They all follow a theme of strange characters with strange afflictions within beautifully constructed stories that carry deep meaning while being light and fun to watch.

Anime monogatari series

anime monogatari series

Below is a breakdown of the different seasons, which are vital when it comes to knowing the order in which to watch the series:

Season 1: Bakemonogatari, Nisemonogatari, Nekomonogatari black, and Kizumonogatari.

Season 2: Nekomonogatari White, Kabukumonogatari, Hanamonogatari, Otorimonogatari, Onimonogatari, and Koimonogatari.

Final Season: Tsukimonogatari, Koyomimonogatari, Owarimongatari, Zoku Owarimonogatari.

The series can be viewed in chronological order, but this is not necessarily recommended as the best way to see the stories for the first time. The second and final season’s release has changed the chronological order for a bit of loop, as the series was never intended to be viewed chronologically. The purpose of a shuffled timeline was to create some mystery and anticipation and help add some important revelations along the way.

Although the Monogatari series is a big world with many characters, it all relates to a common theme. There are three recommended orders for viewing the Monogatari series, depending on your knowledge of the series and how you prefer to experience it. There is an order for beginners faithful to the novels and an order for those who have read the novels and want to see the series chronologically.

Launch order

2- Monogatari series order

This order is recommended for those who are entering the series for the first time. This is how most viewers have followed the story since it is the most logical order: the order of launch of the animation’s seasons and chapters is followed.

Seeing it in this order is how SHAFT intended it to be and possibly the best order for first-time viewers of the series. The biggest difference in this order is that Kizumonogatari, the origin story, is only shown later. Some feel this might leave many unanswered questions for first-time viewers, but the other seasons and episodes provide enough information to follow the storyline.

Typically this is the order in which most English viewers have enjoyed the series as it was released as such for viewing.

First season:

1. Bakemonogatari (2009) – Stories of Mayoi Snail, Hitagi Crab, Nadeko Snake, Suruga Money, and Tsubasa Cat.

2. Nisemonogatari (2012) – Stories of the Tsukihi Phoenix and Bee Karen.

3. Nekomonogatari Kuro (2012) – The Tsubasa Family Prequel Story

Second season:

1. Monogatari Series Second Season (2013): Contains a majority of the single-story novels, including Mayoi Jiangshi, Shinobu Time, Tsubasa Tiger, and Final Hitagi.

2. Hanamonogatari (2014) – Story of the devil Suruga.

Final season:

1. Tsukimonogatari (2014) – Story of the Yotsugi doll

2. Owarimonogatari (2015) – The Ougi Formula, Sodachi Loss, Sodachi Riddle, and Shinobu Armor.

3. Koyomimonogatari (2016) – Tells 12 different stories about Koyomi.

4. Owarimonogatari (Part 2) (2017) – Story of the encounter with Hitagi, stories of Ougi Dark and Arargi Koyomi, including other stories that could spoil the plot.

5. Zoku Owarimonogatari (2018): This installment was initially released as a movie but will be made as a 6-episode screening in 2019. It’s the reverse story of Koyomi.

Out of season (Off Season):

1. Orokamonogatari (Unannounced)

2. Wazamonogatari (Unannounced)

3. Nademonogatari (Unannounced)

4. Musubimonogatari (Unannounced)

Monster Season:

1. Shinobumonogtari (Unannounced)

2. Yoimonogatari (Unannounced)

3. Amarimonogatari (Unannounced)

4. Ougimonogatari (Unannounced)

5. Shimonogatari (Unannounced)

Do you want more vampire content in your life? This list is tailor-made for you! Discover the best vampire series and movies!

Chronological order

3- Monogatari series order

Many people find that rewatching the series, or watching it after reading the novels, is best enjoyed in chronological order. The number of stories and characters in this universe means that there is a lot to see again, and there are always new things to learn the second time around.

The chronological order is recommended for advanced fans, who will not be confused by missing information that has not yet been revealed or clarified. Beginners will get a bit lost in this order, as there will be a few jumps between certain novels before finishing one at a time.

  • Wazamonogatari
  • Kizumonogatari
  • Nekomonogatari (Black)
  • Bakemonogatari
  • Nisemonogatari
  • Kabukimonogatari
  • Onimonogatari
  • Owarimonogatari Vol. 2
  • Nekomonogatari (White)
  • Owarimonogatari Vol. 1
  • Wazamonogatari
  • Orokamonogatari
  • Otorimonogatari
  • Koimonogatari
  • Tsukimonogatari
  • Owarminogatari Vol. 3
  • Zoku Owarimonogatari
  • Hanamonogatari
  • Shinobumonogatari
  • Wazamonogatari
  • Orokamonogatari (Suruga Hollow Head)
  • Orokamonogatari (Undo Tsukihi)
  • Nademonogatari
  • Musubimonogatari

Order of Nisio Isin

4- Monogatari series order

This order is the original release order for the light novels. It is the order in which the author Nisio Isin intended the novels to be read. The chronological order is changed throughout, but this is completely intentional and works to create a complete story and character universe.

If you want to enjoy the stories as they were created to enjoy them, this is the order to follow. It will be a bit devoid of the mystery and anticipation that Kizumonogatari brings and a few small changes to the narrative, but it stays true to the story.

First season:

1. Bakemonogatari (2006) – Stories of Mayoi Snail, Hitagi Crab, Nadeko Snake, Suruga Money, and Tsubasa Cat.

2. Kizumonogatari (2008) – Prequel to the Monogatari series.

3. Nisemonogatari (2008-2009) – Stories of the Tsukihi Phoenix and Bee Karen.

4. Nekomonogatari Black (2010) – Prequel story of the Tsubasa family.

Second season:

1. Nekomonogatari White (2010) – Tsubasa Hanekawa’s story from his own perspective.

2. Kabukimonogatari (2010) – A time travel story with Araragi Koyomi and Oshino Shinobu.

3. Hanamonogatari (2011) – Story of the devil Suruga.

4. Otorimonogatari (2011) – The story follows Medusa Nadeko and her journey to fend for herself.

5. Onimonogatari (2011) – The story of the Shinobu altar.

6. Koimonogatari (2011) – Hitagi Senjougahara deals with the gods to protect Koyomi Araragi.

Final season:

1. Tsukimonogatari (2012) – Story about the Yotsugi Doll

2. Koyomimonogatari (2013) – Tells 12 different stories about Araragi Koyomi.

3. Owarimonogatari (2013-2014) – The Ougi Formula, Sodachi Loss, Sodachi Riddle, and Shinobu Armor.

4. Zoku Owarimonogatari (2014) – This was originally going to be released as a movie, but it split into six episodes in 2019. It tells the story of Koyomi, but in reverse.

Out of season (Off Season):

1. Orokamonogatari (2015) – Story about Failure Sodachi, Airhead Suruga, and Undo Tsukihi.

2. Wazamonogatari (2016) – Cruel Fairy Tale: Blonde Princess

3. Nademonogatari (2016) – Nadeko Drawing Story

4. Musubimonogatari (2017) – Four stories: Zenka Mermaid, Mitome Wolf, Golem Nozomi and Human Tsuzura.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button